Keyboard instruments > Piano solo

Johann Sebastian Bach

French Overture b minor BWV 831

Editor: Rudolf Steglich
Fingering: Hans-Martin Theopold

9.50 €

Urtext Edition, paperbound

Pages: 23 (23), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 1304 · ISMN 979-0-2018-1304-2

Level of difficulty (Piano): difficult (Level 6/7)

In 1735 Johann Sebastian Bach published his French Overture BWV 831 together with the famous Italian Concerto as the second part of his “Clavier-Übung”. The designation Ouvertüre (Overture) can be somewhat misleading, since this work consists not just of an opening movement but also of a full-fledged partita with 11 movements: Ouvertüre, Courante, Gavotte I & II, Passepied I & II, Sarabande, Bourrée I & II, Gigue and Echo. In terms of melodic richness and rhythmic play it is on a par with its sister-pieces from Part 1 of the “Clavier Übung“, the 6 Partitas BWV 825-830.

« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »