Keyboard instruments > Piano solo

Johannes Brahms

Piano Sonata f sharp minor op. 2

Editor: Katrin Eich
Fingering: Andreas Boyde

11.00 €

Urtext Edition, paperbound

Pages: 39 (V, 34), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 1289 · ISMN 979-0-2018-1289-2

Level of difficulty (Piano): difficult (Level 8)


Johannes Brahms’s Piano Sonatas opp. 1, 2 and 5 were among the first works that the 20-year-old composer published. They were composed in 1852/53, although the Sonata in f-sharp minor was apparently the first of the three to be composed, as it was finished by November 1852. This work has a special place in his oeuvre. Besides its passionate atmosphere, his contemporaries discerned it to be “serious and dignified in character”. Brahms dedicated this sonata to Clara Schumann, whose husband Robert wrote to the composer that “Your second sonata, my friend, has brought me much closer to you”. The ingenious fingerings have been provided by the pianist Andreas Boyde, a recognised Brahms expert.

« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »