Chamber music > Piano Quartets

Johannes Brahms

Piano Quartet c minor op. 60

Editor: Hanspeter Krellmann
Fingering: Hans-Martin Theopold

35.50 €

Urtext Edition, paperbound

Pages: 89 (III, 53, 11, 11, 11), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 285 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0285-5

Brahms’ Third Piano Quartet stands out for the extremely involved and complex history of its genesis. A very first version of certain sections – still in c sharp minor – had been written in 1855/56, but neither the composer nor his friends were genuinely happy with this version. In 1869 Brahms reprised his work , but still found no satisfying solution. It was not until 1874/75 that he brought the final version to paper, replacing two movements of the original version with new ones. While the “tragic” key of c minor points to the truly dark, passionate character of the work, the composer actually singled out the mood of suffering of the quartet himself in several letters.

« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »