Keyboard instruments > Piano solo

Ludwig van Beethoven

Piano Sonata no. 26 E flat major op. 81a (Les Adieux)

Editor: Norbert Gertsch, Murray Perahia
Fingering: Murray Perahia

7.50 €

Urtext Edition, paperbound
in preparation
revised edition
replaces HN 723

Order no. HN 1223 · ISMN 979-0-2018-1223-6

Level of difficulty (Piano): difficult (Level 8)


“The farewell / Vienna, May 4, 1809 / on the departure of his Imperial Highness the revered Archduke Rudolph” – Beethoven added this inscription to the manuscript of this sonata. It is today known by its French title “les Adieux” and numbers amongst the composer’s best-loved piano works. The first movement of the sonata was presumably written directly before the archduke hurriedly left Vienna. Rudolph and other members of the imperial family fled to Hungary to avoid having to endure the French troops’ siege and conquest. On his return in January 1810, Beethoven was able to present him with the complete sonata, having written not only the “farewell”, but also “absence” and “return”.

« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »