Suite op. 14

Editor: László Somfai
Fingering: Dénes Várjon

12.00 €

Urtext Edition, paperbound
No distribution rights for France, Spain and USA.
Joint publishing venture with Editio Musica Budapest.

Pages: 31 (VII, 24), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 1403 · ISMN 979-0-2018-1403-2

Level of difficulty (Piano): difficult (Level 6/7)

The four-movement Suite op. 14 was composed in 1916 and was one of Bartók’s favourite piano works throughout his life. Unlike in his other works for piano of these years, he did not use any folksong melodies or folkloristic elements here. Instead, he endeavoured to achieve a new, more “abstract”, transparent piano style that forgoes ornament and embellishment. A special feature of this Henle edition is the appendix with an additional Andante movement that was originally intended to come before the Scherzo, but which Bartók removed from the Suite only shortly before its publication in 1918. The Urtext edition of this important work in the concert repertoire follows the musical text of the Bartók Complete Edition. It has been edited by perhaps the most distinguished Bartók scholar in the world today, László Somfai, who has also written the comprehensive introduction to the work, and who offers helpful suggestions regarding its interpretation.

« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »