String instruments > Violin and Piano

Johann Sebastian Bach

Violin Concerto E major BWV 1042

Editor: Hans Eppstein
Piano reduction: Johannes Umbreit
Fing. vn: Kurt Guntner

15.00 €

Urtext Edition, Piano reduction, paperbound
with marked and unmarked string parts

Pages: 49 (IV, 23, 11, 11), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 670 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0670-9

Level of difficulty (Violin): medium (Level 6)

Bach’s E major Violin Concerto has survived solely in the form of a copy, but in view of its significant compositional substance, and of Bach’s arrangement (which has come down to us as an autograph) for harpsichord and orchestra, the work’s authenticity is beyond question. The highly expressive violin melody in the second movement speaks for itself: the harpsichord version cannot provide a real replacement for it.

« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »