String instruments > Violin and Piano

Johann Sebastian Bach

Violin Concerto a minor BWV 1041

Editor: Hans Eppstein
Piano reduction: Johannes Umbreit
Fing. vn: Kurt Guntner

16.00 €

Urtext Edition, Piano reduction, paperbound
with marked and unmarked string parts

Pages: 42 (III, 19, 10, 10), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 671 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0671-6

Level of difficulty (Violin): medium (Level 5)

ABRSM: Grade 8 (recommended)

For the editor of an Urtext edition, Bach’s A minor violin concerto BWV 1041 presents few problems; cleanly-written original parts exist from Bach’s Köthen (or early Leipzig) period. But beyond the guarantee of a reliable musical text, the Henle edition scores points in terms of text layout; thanks to a foldout solo part, turning pages is made comfortable, something that was previously a challenge because of the literally non-stop, continuous sixteenth notes in the opening movement. Other publishers have since copied this idea. Only the piano reduction from Henle – in all three of Bach’s violin concertos – can be effortlessly performed off the page, even by the lay musician.

« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »