String instruments > Violin and Piano

Johann Sebastian Bach

Violin Sonatas no. 4-6 BWV 1017-1019

Editor: Hans Eppstein
Fingering: Hans-Martin Theopold
Fing. vn: Karl Röhrig

24.00 €

Urtext Edition, paperbound
with marked and unmarked string parts

Pages: 128 (V, 77, 23, 23), Size 23,5 x 31,0 cm
Order no. HN 199 · ISMN 979-0-2018-0199-5

As Court Music Director in Cöthen, Johann Sebastian Bach devoted himself primarily to instrumental music. Among the works written there were his Sonatas for violin and obbligato harpsichord BWV 1014–1019, which have come down to us as a complete cycle. The violinist and harpsichordist/pianist are equally challenged here, and the sonatas – together with Bach’s flute and viola da gamba sonatas – lay the foundation for the duo sonata in the modern sense, as the usual accompanying function of the basso continuo yields to an independent keyboard part that lends each sonata an individual profile. Our edition is largely based on the manuscript copies made by Bach’s son-in-law Altnickol. The Sonata in G Major BWV 1019 exists in quite varying versions, each with different individual movements. For this reason, two older versions of the Sonata are published here in an appendix, making this Urtext edition especially valuable for Bach enthusiasts too.

« BackWhere to buy »
Add to wish list »Added to wish list »